NAEC 2024 PROPOSAL FORM FOR RECOMMENDING CANDIDATES William C. Sturgeon Distinguished Service Award

NAEC's most prestigious and elite award, the William C. Sturgeon Distinguished Service Award, is presented annually to the individual who most merits the elevator industry's recognition – an individual who has given unselfishly of his or her time and energies to the benefit of the Association and the industry – an individual who unerringly supports and participates in the activities of the Association. The Association is encouraged to look within its membership for a candidate who has given much of their life to the betterment of the industry and the Association. Please review the qualifications and submit your recommendations for the Awards Committee's consideration.

Recipient Qualifications

- 1. A person who has made a significant contribution to NAEC in any one or all of the following categories:
 - a. An Officer

c. Committee Chairman d. Committee Member

- b. A Director
- 2. One who has caused some major beneficial change in the policies or direction of the association.
- 3. One who has made a distinct contribution to the industry as a whole.
- 4. A member who has, through their employment, shown an unselfish devotion and dedication for the general betterment of NAEC and the elevator industry, as a whole.
- 5. A member of the elevator industry who has promoted a better climate in other areas such as safety, codes and government.
- 6. A person who has introduced a concept to expand the influence and opportunities of the elevator industry, especially the members of NAEC.

Past Recipients

- > 1981 Lindy Lindberg
- > 1982 Hugo H. Hillstedt
- > 1983 Charles W. Lerch
- 1984 Paul Krum
- 1985 Robert F. Loughridge
- 1987 Eric Fairhurst
- 1988 Herb Leibowitz
- > 1989 J.N. Sproule
- > 1990 Frederick W. Farnsworth
- ➢ 1991 Lou Blaiotta
- ➤ 1993 John Woo
- 1994 Eugene Frohlinger
- > 1995 William C. Sturgeon
- 1996 John E. Herwig

- 1997 George Strakosch
 1998 Walter Vendetti
- 1990 Walter Vendetti
 1999 Helen K. Barbee
- \geq 2000 Thomas B. LaPorte
- 2000 Marie McDonald
- 2001 Marie McDorlaid
- 2002 Ricia S. Hendrick
 2003 Herbert W. Glaser, Jr.
- Walter G. Glaser
- ➢ 2004 Robert P. Schaeffer
- > 2005 Robert DeFrancesco
- 2006 Richard E. Vinciguerra
- \geq 2007 Douglas A. Witham
- 2007 Douglas A. William
 2008 James T. Haines
- 2009 Frank H. Musholt

- 2010 Richard Gregory
- > 2011 Marvin Schumacher
- 2012 Vincent Moscato
- 2013 Michael Ryan
- > 2014 Richard Kennedy
- 2015 Jackie Mortman
- > 2016 David Smarte
- ➢ 2017 Steve McDuffie
- > 2018 Perry Burch
- > 2019 Joseph McNally
- > 2020 Louis "LJ" Blaiotta
- > 2021 Donald Gelestino
- > 2022 Mark Boelhouwer
- > 2023 Gary Schuette

(Please note that in 1995 the name was changed from the Distinguished Service Award to the William C. Sturgeon Distinguished Service Award)

Please return no later than June 3rd , 2024 to Danielle Chappelear. Email: <u>danielle@naec.org</u> or Fax: 770-760-9714

NAEC 2024 PROPOSAL FORM FOR RECOMMENDING CANDIDATES William C. Sturgeon Distinguished Service Award

My proposed recipient for the William C. Sturgeon Distinguished Service Award is:

Their Company is:

Their Position is:

I believe the proposed recipient should receive the award because:

Signed by:

Print Name:

Company: